Blogs > Out of Left Field

A sometimes-irreverent look at Detroit's Boys of Summer, the Tigers, as they try to return to the top of the American League Central.

Friday, April 26, 2013

Miggy presented with his Tiger of the Year award

The Detroit chapter of the Baseball Writers' Association of America presented Miguel Cabrera with his Tiger of the Year award Friday at Comerica Park, before the game against the Atlanta Braves. 

Cabrera was a unanimous selection, after his Most Valuable Player and Triple Crown season in 2012. 

It was the third time he'd won the award since joining the Tigers, also winning in 2008 and 2010.

Cecil Fielder (1990, 1991, 1992) was the last three-time winner of the award. Alan Trammell won it three times, as well. No player has ever won it four times.

(The table of past winners below is courtesy of
Don Wert (1)
Al Kaline (1)
Al Kaline (2)
Placido Polanco (1)
Carlos Guillen (1)
2008 Detroit TigersMiguel Cabrera (1)
2009 Detroit TigersJustin Verlander (1)
2010 Detroit TigersMiguel Cabrera (2)
2011 Detroit TigersJustin Verlander (2)
2012 Detroit TigersMiguel Cabrera (3)


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home