Blogs > Out of Left Field

A sometimes-irreverent look at Detroit's Boys of Summer, the Tigers, as they try to return to the top of the American League Central.

Thursday, October 24, 2013

Miggy wins Sporting News MLB Player of the Year again

Detroit Tigers slugger Miguel Cabrera became the fourth player to win Sporting News MLB Player of the Year in back to back seasons, in voting from his peers.

Chris Davis was second, and Mike Trout — last year’s runner-up — got fewer than 10 votes this time around, the magazine announced on Thursday, saying Cabrera won overwhelmingly. Cabrera was named on 141 ballots, Davis on 35.

Four Tigers players have won the award, but Cabrera is the first to win it twice. He won it by a 108-71 margin last season.

Teammate Justin Verlander was the 2011 honoree, while Denny McLain won in 1968. Both men won the American League Cy Young and MVP honors in those seasons. AL MVP Hal Newhouser won it in 1945.

The magazine has given out the award since 1936.

Hall of Famers Joe Morgan and Ted Williams, along with Albert Pujols, are the only other players to win the award twice in a row.

Voting results:
Miguel Cabrera, 141
Chris Davis, 35
Mike Trout, 9
Clayton Kershaw, 8
Andrew McCutchen, 8
Paul Goldschmidt, 3
Five other players, 1


Blogger Unknown said...

I have read your blog. It’s very interesting and informative too .Thanks a lot for sharing a little information. For more information about all the latest sports news please visit "".

April 20, 2014 at 1:57 AM 

Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home