Blogs > Out of Left Field

A sometimes-irreverent look at Detroit's Boys of Summer, the Tigers, as they try to return to the top of the American League Central.

Sunday, September 18, 2011

Verlander tries for win No. 24, Tigers go for split in Oakland

While the Tigers clinched the American League Central title late Friday night, there are still some goals — team and personal — to play for.
Justin Verlander is going for his 24th win of the season against the A's, trying to become the first MLB pitcher since Atlanta's John Smoltz in 1996 to do so. The last American League pitcher to win 24 or more games was Bob Welch in 1990 for Oakland. No Tigers pitcher has won 24 games since Mickey Lolich in 1971, in the era of the four-man rotation.
For the Tigers, there's still a chance to hold onto home-field advantage in the first round (the Tigers are a game ahead of Texas), and still a chance to get home-field through the AL Championship Series (the Tigers are four games behind the Yankees).

Game time: 4:05 p.m. ET
TV: FOX Sports Detroit
Radio: WXYT-FM (97.1) and AM (1270)

(career vs. Moscoso in parentheses)
Austin Jackson, CF (.333, 1-for-3)
Don Kelly, 3B (n/a)
Delmon Young, LF (1.000, 1-for-1)
Miguel Cabrera, 1B (.400, 2-for-5)
Victor Martinez, DH (.667, 2-for-3)
Alex Avila, C (.000, 0-for-1)
Carlos Guillen, 2B (.750, 3-for-4)
Andy Dirks, RF (n/a)
Ramon Santiago SS (n/a)

Starting pitcher:
Justin Verlander
2011 season: 23-5, 2.36 ERA
Career vs. Oakland: 10GS, 4-5, 3.00 ERA, 56.2 IP

OAKLAND A'S (69-83):
(career vs. Verlander in parentheses)
Jemile Weeks, 2B (n/a)
Scott Sizemore, 3B (n/a)
Coco Crisp, CF (.368, 7-for-19)
Josh Willingham, LF (.333, 1-for-3)
David DeJesus, RF (.302, 13-for-43)
Carter, DH (n/a)
Allen, 1B (n/a)
Kurt Suzuki, C (.300, 6-for-20)
Eric Sogard, SS (n/a)

Starting pitcher:
Guillermo Moscoso
2011 season: 8-8, 3.44 ERA
Career vs. Tigers: 0-1, 3G, 1GS, 8.00 ERA, 3 HR, 9 IP

Most recent pitchers with 24 wins:
(those with more than 24 have the total in parentheses)
2002 Randy Johnson, Arizona
1996 John Smoltz, Atlanta
1990 Bob Welch, Oakland (27)
1988 Frank Viola, Minnesota
1986 Rogers Clemens, Boston
1985 Dwight Gooden, New York Mets
1983 Lamarr Hoyt, Chicago White Sox
1980 Steve Carlton, Philadelphia
1978 Ron Guidry, New York Yankees (25)
1974 Catfish Hunter, Oakland (25)
1974 Ferguson Jenkins, Texas (25)
1973 Ron Bryant, San Francisco
1972 Steve Carlton, Philadelphia (25)
1972 Gaylord Perry, Cleveland
1971 Mickey Lolich, Detroit (25)


Blogger Dave Hopper said...

you forgot randy johnson

September 22, 2011 at 5:40 PM 
Blogger Matthew B. Mowery said...

Apparently the list that I was looking at was relatively not-so-comprehensive. Fixed now.

September 22, 2011 at 6:53 PM 
Blogger Dave Hopper said...

No worries! I was curious to see the list of 24 game winners because I knew Verlander's accomplishment is rare these days. The only one that's done it since I've been following is The Big Unit, so that's how I knew you were missing one. Good list otherwise though. Just what I was looking for.

September 23, 2011 at 9:11 PM 

Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home