Blogs > Out of Left Field

A sometimes-irreverent look at Detroit's Boys of Summer, the Tigers, as they try to return to the top of the American League Central.

Friday, October 26, 2012

Miguel Cabrera named Sporting News MLB Player of the Year

Miguel Cabrera was named the Sporting News' MLB Player of the Year, the magazine revealed Friday, beating out Mike Trout in the voting, 108-71.

No other player got more than five votes from the panel of 203 big-league players.

The Triple Crown winner became the Detroit Tigers franchise's fourth player to win the award.

Teammate Justin Verlander was the 2011 honoree, while Denny McLain won in 1968. Both men won the American League Cy Young and MVP honors in those seasons. AL MVP Hal Newhouser won it in 1945.

Every Triple Crown winner since the award was created in 1936 — Carl Yastrzemski (1967), Frank Robinson (1966), Mickey Mantle (1956), Ted Williams (1942, 1947) — has won the award.

It remains to be seen if Cabrera will also beat out Trout in the voting for the AL MVP award. The Base Ball Writers' Association of American will announce the results of their voting at 6:47 p.m. (ET) on Thursday, Nov. 15.


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home