Blogs > Out of Left Field

A sometimes-irreverent look at Detroit's Boys of Summer, the Tigers, as they try to return to the top of the American League Central.

Sunday, October 27, 2013

Detroit Tigers slugger Miguel Cabrera wins Hank Aaron Award for 2nd year in a row

Miguel Cabrera is the recipient of the Hank Aaron Award for the second straight season,, despite finishing the year in immense pain. He was honored before Sunday's Game 4 of the World Series.

Veteran baseball writer Peter Gammons also reported that Cabrera will have surgery next week on his severely strained groin. [UPDATE: Tigers GM Dave Dombrowski later confirmed the report in an email exchange.]

Last season, Cabrera was the American League recipient of the Aaron award, along with San Francisco's Buster Posey in the National League. Arizona's Paul Goldschmidt won the NL award this season.

“I’m very nervous right now,” Cabrera said after being awarded the honor last year. “I want to thank you very much for giving me this opportunity. It’s an honor.”

The Hank Aaron Award is given annually to each league’s top offensive performer, as voted by fans, along with a Hall of Fame panel of Aaron, Tony Gwynn, Paul Molitor, Joe Morgan and Robin Yount.


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home