Blogs > Out of Left Field

A sometimes-irreverent look at Detroit's Boys of Summer, the Tigers, as they try to return to the top of the American League Central.

Tuesday, October 29, 2013

Tigers shut out of Gold Glove Awards for fourth straight season

Four years and counting since the last time the Detroit Tigers had a Rawlings Gold Glove Award recipient.

Pitcher Doug Fister and left fielder Andy Dirks were finalists, but the American League Gold Gloves went to the Blue Jays’ R.A. Dickey and Kansas City’s Alex Gordon at those two positions.

The last current Tigers player to win a Gold Glove was Torii Hunter in 2009. The last player to win one in a Tigers uniform was second baseman Placido Polanco that same year.

The last Tigers pitcher to win a Gold Glove was Kenny Rogers in 2006. The last Tigers outfielder to win one was Gary Pettis in 1989.

Jose Iglesias — who did not play enough games at shortstop to qualify for the Gold Glove — had the No. 1 Web Gem of the year, according to the ESPN “Baseball Tonight” presenters of the Gold Glove Awards. The video of the play is below:


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home