Blogs > Out of Left Field

A sometimes-irreverent look at Detroit's Boys of Summer, the Tigers, as they try to return to the top of the American League Central.

Wednesday, November 5, 2014

Kinsler finally gets award for his leather, a Wilson Defensive Player of the Year award

Call Ian Kinsler 1-for-3, I guess.

After striking out in the Gold Glove and Fielding Bible Awards for defensive prowess — both went to Boston's Dustin Pedroia — Kinsler was finally rewarded for his stellar defensive season on Wednesday, claiming the Wilson Defensive Player of the Year award at second base.

Given out each of the last two years by the glove manufacturer, this year is the first time they've done it strictly by position, like the other two awards do. Previously, one player from each team was honored. (Austin Jackson won in both 2012 and 2013.)

The Wilson awards are the only one of the three defensive awards officially sanctioned by MLB.

Winners are determined by a combination of traditional stats, as well as advanced metrics, along with input from scouts from Inside Edge.

Kinsler led all second basemen in Defensive Runs Saved (20), and was second to Pedroia in Total Zone Total Defense (14) and Ultimate Zone Rating (13.0).

It's the first time Kinsler won a Wilson DPOY award.

He was one of just three American League players honored in 2014, while the other six came from the National League, including the overall POY winner, Braves outfielder Jason Heyward.

The other winners included: Johnny Cueto, P, Reds; Russell Martin, C, Pirates; Adrian Gonzalez, 1B, Dodgers; Juan Uribe, 3B, Dodgers; Andrelton Simmons, SS, Braves; Alex Gordon, LF, Royals; and Lorenzo Cain, CF, Royals.


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home