Tigers still steamed about missed hit-by-pitch
Jake Westbrook's first pitch of the third inning was inside to Ramon Santiago, far enough that the switch-hitting infielder couldn't get out of the way. Knowing he was plunked on the thigh by the pitch, Santiago trotted up the first-base line, before being called back.
Runge ruled Santiago, who'd been squared around to bunt, fouled the pitch off.
"I don’t even know. I know the ball hit me, I know I pulled the bat back. Then when the umpire say that, I was shocked. I was like, ‘What?’ He call me (for) a swing or something? Maybe I can take that better, but no. Not a foul ball when it’s not even close," Santiago said Thursday morning.
"I was like ‘Check with the umpire on the other side. Ask him,' " Santiago said. "He say, no, he see it."