Blogs > Out of Left Field

A sometimes-irreverent look at Detroit's Boys of Summer, the Tigers, as they try to return to the top of the American League Central.

Saturday, March 30, 2013

Who's picking whom to win what in 2013?

Everyone makes predictions at this point of the year — including myself. It's just what we do. We jot down what we expect to happen, and then we come back and look at how everything panned out at the end of the season. Remember, it's just for fun, right?

Here are how some of the experts around the baseball world figure the 2013 MLB season will turn out. Everyone has different criteria and different things they're picking, so none of the entries are completely the same.

Feel free to point and laugh, if you'd like.

The Sporting News
AL Central champs: Detroit

World Series: Two of four contributors picked the Tigers to be in the World Series, with one saying they’ll lose to the Nationals, and the other saying they’ll beat Washington. (The other two picked Angels over Braves and Nationals over Angels)

Cy Young: Clayton Kershaw (NL); Jered Weaver (AL)
MVP: Joey Votto (NL); Mike Trout (AL)
Rookie of the Year: Oscar Taveras, St. Louis (NL); Wil Myers, Tampa Bay (AL)
Manager of the Year: Don Mattingly (NL); Terry Francona (AL)
AL Central champs:
Detroit (6 of 6)

AL champion: Detroit (5 of 6 — Dayn Perry picked the Rays)
NL champion: Washington (6 of 6)

AL Cy Young: 2 picked Justin Verlander
NL Comeback Player: 3 picked Victor Martinez
World Series champ: Washington 4, Tigers 2

FOX Sports 
Ken Rosenthal

AL Central champs: Detroit
World Series: Tigers over Reds 

MVP: Mike Trout (AL); Joey Votto (NL)
Cy Young: Justin Verlander (AL); Stephen Strasburg (NL)
Rookie of the Year: Aaron Hicks, Minnesota (AL); Jedd Gyorko, San Diego (NL)
Manager of the Year: Joe Maddon (AL); Bruce Bochy (NL)

Jon Paul Morosi AL Central champs: *ahem* Royals
World Series: Nationals over Blue Jays
MVP: Jose Bautista (AL); Bryce Harper (NL)
Cy Young: Felix Hernandez (AL); Adam Wainright (NL)
Rookie of the Year: Brandon Maurer, Seattle (AL); Shelby Miller, St. Louis (NL)
Manager of the Year: John Gibbons (AL); Davey Johnson (NL)

AL Central champs:
Detroit (43 of 43) 
World Series: Of the 43 contributors polled, 26 had the Tigers repeating as AL champions, with 17 having the Tigers winning it.

Baseball Prospectus
AL Central champs:
Detroit (40 first-place votes)
World Series winner: Washington Nationals
MVP: Mike Trout, LA Angels (AL); Joey Votto, Cincinnati (NL)
Cy Young: Justin Verlander, Detroit (AL); Stephen Strasburg, Washington (NL)
Rookie of the Year: Wil Myers, Tampa Bay (AL); Shelby Miller, St. Louis (NL) 
AL Central champs:
Detroit (7 of 7)
AL champions: 3 picked Detroit
World Series champs: 2 picked Detroit

USA Today
AL Central champs:
AL Central champs:
7 of 7 picked Detroit (although they didn’t get the memo about discontinuing the leaping Tiger logo around, oh, 2005)
World Series champs: 3 of 7 picked the Tigers to repeat as AL champs, but one of those did not think they’d win the World Series.

Sports Illustrated
AL Central champs:
AL champions: Rays over Blue Jays
World Series: Nationals over Rays

MVP: Mike Trout (AL), Bryce Harper (NL)
Cy Young: Justin Verlander (AL), Stephen Strasburg (NL)
Rookie of the Year: Jurickson Profar, Rangers (AL); Adam Eaton, D’backs (NL)
Mr. Irreplaceable: Robinson Cano (AL); Matt Kemp (NL)
Breakout Hitter: Yoenis Cespedes (AL); Paul Goldschmidt (NL)
Breakout Pitcher: Alex Cobb (AL); Kris Medlen (NL)

Batting champ: Miguel Cabrera (AL, .335); Joey Votto (NL, .323)
HR champ: Jose Bautista (AL, 44); Giancarlo Stanton (NL, 43)
RBI champ: Miguel Cabrera (AL, 126); Ryan Braun (NL, 115)
K/9: Al Alburquerque (AL, 12.5); Craig Kimbrel (NL, 15.6)

New Jersey Institute of Technology associate dean Bruce Bukiet (Using mathematical models, of course)
AL Central champs: Detroit (with 102 wins, best in MLB)

Yahoo! Sports
AL Central champs:
4 of 4 picked Detroit
World Series: Two of the four writers had the Tigers defending their AL pennant, but only one — Jeff Passan — had the Tigers breaking their 29-year championship drought.

Cy Young: All four picked Verlander to win his second
AL Central champs:
19 of 20 picked Detroit (including C.J. Nitkowski and Jack Morris — but not Tracy Ringolsby)
World Series: Thirteen of the panel (including Morris and Nitkowski) picked the Tigers to defend their AL pennant. Five picked the Tigers to win it all — but not Morris or Nitkowski. (The Tigers were the second most-popular pick — nine writers picked the Nationals.)

Baseball America 
(Picks by executive editor Jim Callis)
AL Central champs: Royals
World Series: Nationals over Rays 

Athlon Sports 
AL Central champs:
ALCS: Detroit over Los Angeles
NLCS: Washington over San Francisco
World Series: Detroit over Washington

MVP: Robinson Cano (AL); Joe Votto (NL)
Cy Young: Justin Verlander (AL); Clayton Kershaw (NL)
Rookie of the Year: Wil Myers, Tampa Bay (AL); Hyun-Jin Ryu, LA Dodgers (NL)


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home